Das IT-Team von Unilever stand vor zahlreichen Herausforderungen im Hinblick auf die Größe der betreuten Infrastruktur, die Folgendes umfasst: 1.000 Anwendungen, 10.000 Schnittstellen und 500 IT-Projekte pro Jahr. Unilever verfügte über mehrere internationale Teams und suchte nach effektiveren Lösungen, um neue Produkte und Services zu implementieren.

Unilever begann, eine optimierte E-Commerce-Plattform aufzubauen, die sein Markenportfolio in einem gemeinsamen Betriebsmodell vereinen sollte. MuleSoft wurde damit beauftragt, die Vernetzung der verschiedenen Tools der E-Commerce-Plattform (NetSuite, Salesforce Commerce Cloud usw.) und den Zugriff auf wichtige lokale Systeme wie SAP zu ermöglichen. Darüber hinaus verfolgte das Team für „adaptive Integration“ einen API-gesteuerten Ansatz, um Engpässe auszuräumen und die Innovation in den Geschäftsbereichen zu unterstützen.

Mit API-led Connectivity und der Anypoint Platform bauten die Teams von Unilever ein Netzwerk aus wiederverwendbaren Services auf, das markenübergreifenden Self-Service ermöglichte. MuleSoft unterstützte erfolgreich die sechs Monate dauernde Einführung einer neu erworbenen spezialisierten E-Commerce-Geschäftseinheit. Für Kunden bedeutet das ein einheitliches Erlebnis über alle Unilever-Produkte hinweg, und Unilever hat auf diese Weise den ganzen Kunden im Blick. Die Implementierung neuer Initiativen geht nun 3-4 Mal schneller und ist damit in Tagen statt Monaten abgeschlossen.

Contact Free trial Login
+
+

Unilever, one of the largest consumer goods companies in the world, sought to engage directly with customers through digital and in-store channels to build an omnichannel brand through eCommerce. They set an ambitious target: reach one billion consumers by 2020.

 

Unilever’s IT team faced numerous challenges, due to their infrastructure size, which encompasses 1,000 applications, 10,000 Interfaces, and 500 IT projects per year. Unilever had multiple global teams and was looking to find more efficient solutions to deploy new products and services.

Unilever set about creating a best-of-breed platform for eCommerce that unifies their portfolio of multiple brands on a common operating model. MuleSoft was adopted to enable the connectivity between the eCommerce platform’s multiple tools (NetSuite, Salesforce Commerce Cloud, and others) and to access key on-premise systems such as SAP. In addition, their “adaptive integration” team took an API-led approach to remove bottlenecks and support line-of-business innovation.

Using API-led connectivity and Anypoint Platform, Unilever’s teams created a network of reusable services, enabling self-service across various brands. MuleSoft successfully supported the six-month launch of a newly acquired pure play eCommerce entity. For customers, this means a unified experience across Unilever’s products; and for Unilever this translates to having a single view of the customer. Today, deployment for new initiatives is 3-4 times faster––dropping from months to days.

Learn more by watching the Dreamforce 2018 Integration Keynote, and hear from Jane Moran, Unilever Global CIO, and Reema Jain, Unilever IT Director, on the global giant’s journey with APIs and MuleSoft.